So I’m totally late to the game, but I finally bought The Hunger Games. Right now I’m almost done with the first book of the series, and the boyfriend is working on the second book. It’s about what I expected, since I read so many articles about the book before I actually read it, like this one about Katniss failing as a Feminist because she doesn’t act enough, this one about power and the public life, this one about beauty labor and public performances, this one about public surveillance, and this one about kick ass female characters. Like I said, I read a lot of articles.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

” ‘Here’s some advice. Stay alive,” says Haymitch, and then bursts out laughing.”

~The Hunger Games, by Suzane Collins, page 56