I came across this series by award-winning author Lois McMaster Bujold courtesy of my boyfriend and his dad. Although I actually finished the fourth book a while ago, it was while reading the book that I got the idea for this blog so I feel obligated to make it my first review.

The Sharing Knife: Volume 4

This four-book series follows the life of Fawn Bluefield, a farm girl from a small town. She meets and falls in love with a Lakewalker, Dag Redwing Hickory, and together they set out to change people’s prejudice against the magical Lakewalkers.

There are a few things I loved about these books: The writing is wonderful, and the books flow smoothly and the characters seem real. The world created by Bujold is extremely detailed, and the “magic” (or ground sense in Lakewalker terms) is explained in a logical but still mystical and exciting way. But mostly, I love the idea of these two characters, who want nothing more than to settle down and start their life together without being in mortal danger all the time, using their love to combat prejudice and discrimination. Don’t get me wrong, this is not a highly charged political social commentary; it’s just a story about people trying to make the world a better place…that just happens to include magic.

Great books, perfect ending to the series (and I don’t often like endings), creative magic system, and wonderful easy reads. Highly recommended for a nice relaxed weekend.

