Everyone has that one book or series they force people to read–that one book they swear is the best thing ever, and you haven’t lived until you read it. The Symphony of Ages is mine. In honor of Valentine’s Day, I’m featuring the first book in the series, Rhapsody: Child of Blood.

Rhapsody: Child of Blood

There are several love stories in this book and throughout the entire series. The book opens up with the story of Sam and Emily, and even though I’ve read this book countless times, I still tear up over how in love and happy they are. Like any good story, there are problems, but in the end they prove that true love will always survive. And trust me, they put it through some awful tests!

Rhapsody, the main character, is a beautiful and talented musician on the run from her past. Gruther and Achmed, her captors, brothers and best friends, are some of the best characters ever written. I admit it, Achmed is my favorite book character crush.Grunther is  a deadly military leader but completely lovable and often times naïvely unaware. Achmed is manipulative, mysterious, and the world’s best assassin, yet fiercely loyal and protective of his friends. Together, these three offer near-constant giggles, frustration and excitement.

Although not a traditional love story (I’ll admit it, I don’t particularly like Romeo and Juliet), this book gets me every time. I found this series freshman year of high school, and read them at least once a year; I love the first three books so much, I read them several times a year. They never get old.

So if you’re looking for a book to curl up with on a long, lonely weekend (like me…*sigh*) or a fun new series to start with your significant other, you can’t go wrong with Rhapsody!

