I read The Year of the Flood in a few long sittings, mostly while I was at work with nothing to do (3 weeks before midterms the library is always dead). Reading it 150 pages or so per weekend caused the story line to become a bit disconnected, but that was my fault.

The Year of the Flood

This book is the prequel to Oryx and Crake, although it was written second. If you haven’t read Oryx and Crake, I recommend reading it before this one.

This book is split between two narrators, Toby and Ren. Neither woman fits into the cult they are forced to join, but they are able to use their new knowledge and skills to survive a plague of biblical proportions that kills most of humanity. Both women come from troubled pasts and, despite their age difference and life story, shine as an example of strength and determination.

To be honest, this was not one of my favorite Atwood books; that award still goes to The Handmaid’s Tale, my first Atwood book. I have a tendency, just like with my music, of staying loyal to the first thing I read by an author and comparing every other book to that one. Despite the confusing writing style in some parts, and the slightly grating religious dogma (I skipped over some of the prayers that start each section), it’s still a good book and a must read for any Atwood fan.

