Every once in a while I need a funny, well written, easy-going book. Something I can read in one or two sittings ideally. Something that will make me laugh while still making me think. Something that gets me so completely enthralled that I can’t think of anything else until I finish the story. That’s what Storm Front was this weekend, and it performed perfectly.

Storm Front

This book is part sci-fi magical fantasy and part murder mystery. A winning combination, in my mind. Although not the most amazingly written book ever, it has a great tone: personable, honest, sarcastic and down to earth. The main character, Harry, is the kind of guy you would want to sit down and have a beer with.

Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden is a wizard. He solves mysteries involving paranormal activity, finds lost items, and occasionally works as a consultant for the Chicago Police Department. This is the first book of the Dresden Files series, of which there are twelve (maybe? That’s all I found on the Powell’s website after a quick search, anyway). It seems like each one follows a crime or case of some sort, ideal for when you want a quick read and not a series that has to be given considerable time and effort.

I totally loved this book. It made me smile, and if it wasn’t for having to do homework last night I would have finished it in one day. A great book for a lazy don’t want to work too hard mood.

