First off, so sorry for the lack of reviews lately. One of  my classes, Campaign Planning, is in the last stages of planning a year-long, $40 million campaign for State Farm as part of the national American Advertising Federation’s annual competition. It’s been two weeks of 10-12 hours of work after I’ve already done my classes and internship that day, an average of 3 hours of sleep a night, and around 5 cups of coffee a day. I haven’t read anything for fun since Spring Break.

Go Ask Alice

Although I haven’t actually read Go Ask Alice in about a year, a recent online article from Moviefone reminded me of how much I loved it.  The article (read it here) is about the new movie, The Runaways, staring Dakota Fanning and Kristen Stewart. I’m not a huge fan of Fanning’s, and I will always hold Twilight against Stewart…but I do love The Runaways. So I may go see the movie. Who knows. What I do love is how the article questions if today’s youth grow up too quickly, or if pushing the limits is part of the process of growing. Not everyone starts a band and becomes famous as a teen, or becomes a drug addict and dies of an overdose, but we’ve all been in that life stage where we want to rebel.

I first read Go Ask Alice in 7th grade, when my father gave it to me. I loved it instantly–it was dark, angry, passionate and depressing. Growing up, this book was always a sort of comfort blanket: no matter how bad my life is, it’s not that bad yet. My copy is dog-eared, dirty, and falling apart from all the times I read it in one sitting, refusing to move until I was reassured my life wasn’t so bad. While not everyone can understand reading really depressing books (or watching really depressing movies) to feel better, it’s always been my way of dealing with life.

Go Ask Alice is one of the books I think everyone should read. Yes, it’s written for teens. And yes, it’s often disgusting and disturbing when describing her time in the hospital or bad trips. But sometimes we could use a little perspective to help us realize something like an AAF project isn’t the end of the world.

