In leu of a book review today, I’m going to highlight two of my favorite places in Boston: Brattle Book Shop, and the Boston Public Library (I took all of the pictures).

Brattle Book Shop is located on West Street only a few blocks from my school, making it a great for random browsing when I’ve got a few spare minutes. It is one of the oldest antique book stores, and was established in 1825. They do have some beautiful old books (leather and gold leaf), but my absolute favorite part of the shop is the bargain books in the alley next to the store. On nice days, they have books in the shelves that line the alley, along with carts of $3 and $5 books.

The Boston Public Library is located in Copley Square, which is 5 blocks up from my school. Although a bit of a walk when it’s raining or snowing, it’s the perfect location to study. The BPL was the nation’s first large free library, and even today is one of the largest in the country. It was over 6 million books, 1.2 historical documents and rare books, and several million A/V items. The current location was built in the 1890s, and looks more like a museum than a library. The new additions to the library in the 1970s now contain the majority of circulating items, although my favorite room, the social sciences, is still in the old half of the building.

