Can you believe that it has been a month since my first Teaser Tuesday post? Has anything fun or exciting happened in your life in the last month? I’ve spent a weekend with family I hadn’t seen in two or more years, adopted 12 bags of books, and adopted two kittens. I also created a Facebook Fan Page for this blog, as a space to foster more interaction and spark more conversations (I’ve had several friends voice concern about posting anything because they haven’t read the same books as me, so I would love you guys to recommend books via the discussion I’ve started on the fan page). For this week’s teaser, I am going back to a book I posted from a few weeks ago, because I have finally made up my mind to finish the book.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Proto-Malayo-Polynesian contains words for many tropical crops like taro, breadfruit, bananas, yams, and coconuts, for which no word can be reconstructed in Proto-Austronesian. Thus, the linguistic evidence suggests that many tropical crops were added to the Austronesian repertoire after the emigration from Taiwan.”

~Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies, Jared Diamond, page 344

