I love rearranging my room. Just by moving around a few shelves and moving my pictures, my small bedroom can feel like a completely new place…plus I get bored really easily, and move my room around every few months. Having a new room always clears up my head and helps me focus more. Because my original plans for the few months after graduation have not gone the way I wanted, having that fresh perspective was becoming increasingly necessary. So for the past two days I moved everything in my room! Well, not everything: my bed, my small book shelf, and my shelf/bedside table stayed in the same place. I even sorted through the boxes of stuff in my closet that I’ve been hording since 2nd grade. I was able to move my new favorite reading chair, creating the perfect reading corner/hide-away spot! It was incredibly cleaning and refreshing to de-clutter my bedroom; because it is the only space in the house that’s private and personal, I’ve always wanted to create an atmosphere that is calm and organized. What sort of vibe or atmosphere do you desire in your room or house? Are you like me, and want calm, organized and pretty? Or do you like bold colors and fun? Do you desire a different feeling in your reading space (be it a room or corner) than from the rest of the house or room? Do you even have a reading spot, or do you read wherever you can find space and time?

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“In the cinematic world dominated by William Graham Sumner’s conceptions about the nature of human relationships, men such as Schuyler and Parmalee merely got what they deserved within the natural order of things, for they had broken the first rule of monopoly capitalism: they had sought to share pleasure with another. The most extremist conception of the self as private property had fueled Sumner’s disdain for the concept of equality.”

~Evil Sisters: The Threat of Female Sexuality in Twentieth-Century Culture, Bram Dijkstra, page 22

