One of the greatest joys of reading is the diversity of books available–there is a book, series or author for every taste. Yet sometimes this diversity can be a curse, as readers with varied interests (like myself) can find themselves overwhelmed with the large amount of books  they just have to read, but never have time for. My list of books to read is easily twice as long as the books I already own, many of which I haven’t read anyway. Because of this, I’ve promised myself to not buy books for a long while (with two exceptions: if I already own part of a series, the next book is fair game, and books I’ve been looking for that I find cheap at a used bookstore or garage sale). But once my self-imposed book ban is lifted, this list of “books everyone has read but me” goes straight to the top of my shopping list.

  1. Mists of Avalon, by Marion Zimmer Bradly
  2. The Twilight Saga, by Stephenie Meyer
  3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith
  4. Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte
  5. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson
  6. The Time Traveler’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger
  7. Eat, Pray, Love, by Elizabeth Gilbert
  8. War and Peace, by Leo Tolstoy
  9. Les Miserables, by Victor Hugo
  10. The Once and Future King, by T. H. White
  11. The Notebook, by Nicholas Sparks
  12. Push, by Sapphire

This list is a mixture of a few different things, and was inspired by this blog. First, it contains books recommended to me by several people over a long period of time. Second, I have missed many recently published (last five years or so) or recently popular books because I rarely buy new books, instead waiting to find them used in a few years. Third, I’ve included some classical lit that I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never even attempted to read. Do you ever feel like you feel like you are missing out on something by not reading certain books? How many times does a book need to be recommended before you give in and read it? Would you ever read a book you know you won’t like, just because it’s popular?

