What kind of week are you guys having? Mine is full of waiting, list-making and not nearly enough reading–and it’s only Tuesday! As much as I love reading (I use it to relax, to distract myself, when I’m bored, when I’m sad, when I’m waiting, when I want to think, when I want to learn, ect), every once in a while I have so much going on in my life that keeping up on my reading has to take a back seat. So this week I haven’t started any new books, and in fact, I hardly progressed in any of the books I’ve already started. That pile of unread books (along with the laundry and dishes) will just have to wait.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“During the early years of the  twentieth-century, then, the metaphors of biology, which had made women into praying mantises and turned the non-Western world into lairs of rodents, were also used to turn the “effeminate Jew” into a locust, part of a plague on Eurasian anthropophages. And, like the sexual woman, the African was seen as a terrorist “contaminating” evolutionary culture with primitive passions driven by the womb of “brute nature.””

~Evil Sisters: The Threat of Female Sexuality in Twentieth-Century Culture, Bram Dijkstra, page 308

