The end of summer is a weird time. With people getting ready for school, it seems like a great time for personal reinvention and setting new goals. Plus my birthday is at the end of September, increasing the feeling of excitemt and renewal that comes each year with the start of fall. When I was in school, I always used this time to make my list of goals for the new school year (straight A’s, get 100% on an exam in each class, don’t save my homework for the morning it’s due, ect). Now that I’m not limited by the school year to set goals for the next year, I cannot wait to see what this season brings. At times like this, when there is so much going on in my life, I find myself going back to comforting genres and authors. So I started a new sci-fi/fantasy book, and I’m already half way done less than 24 hours after I started it. If you’re still in school, what are you most excited about this year? And if you’re a graduate like me, are you still taking advantage of the feeling of change and possibility to set goals or learn something new? Share your thoughts (and a teaser of what you’re reading!) in the comments.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“She stood in a narrow alley like those she had walked down all day. She’d kept to the slums, figuring that Denth would expect her to run for the open city.”

~Warbreaker, Brandon Sanderson, page 384

