Because I like order and reliability, each week I aim to get this post up around 9:30am on Tuesday (even if that means sometimes writing it the night before so it will post while I’m still sleeping). But last night I was so excited for the Brandon Sanderson book signing at Powell’s that I forgot to schedule my Teaser Tuesday post, and then we got home so late (almost 11:30pm) that I slept in very late and have been running around all day trying to catch up. But even my overly organized self can’t feel guilty for being late this once, because I got to meet one of my favorite authors last night! (Sorry this picture is so bad, the flash on my camera decided it didn’t want to work last night)

Meeting Brandon Sanderson

Basically, Sanderson is even nicer and funnier in person than I had imagined from his interviews and website. Although he doesn’t like chocolate flavored things (he thinks it should only be an accent flavor, as in chocolate frosting rather than chocolate donuts), so I may have to rethink my opinion of him slightly :p   After being introduced and reading the prologue of The Way of Kings, the book he is currently promoting, he answered questions from the audience. Highlights from the question and answer period: He made fun of George R. R. Martin for taking so long to publish the next book in his series, and promised to be more timely; He has sold the rights to the Mistborn series to an indie film director, but doesn’t promise a movie anytime soon; He was heavily influenced by Orson Scott Card and the Ender’s Game series, which he described as “an underdog sports narrative in space…with kids with guns…and it’s awesome;” and his favorite part of the writing process in introductions and conclusions, and he absolutely hates revising and spell checking.

He also answered questions about when he will have new books coming out. The last Wheel of Time book will be published next year, after which he will focus on his own epic fantasy series (he promised that the next books in the series will be published roughly every year and a half). He will also be turning Elantris into a trilogy, and will write a sequel to Warbreaker. And my favorite part, he will turn the Mistborn books into a trilogy of trilogies! Each set will take place in a completely different setting, and he already has plans for one to be set in an urban town, something to do with steam engines, and a sci-fi/fantasy set!

Ok, ok, I’m done with my excited gushing, on to Teaser Tuesday!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“I saw the quick embarrassed look Henry shot toward Anne and realized that the pain he was suffering was less than the injury to his pride at the thought of her seeing him on the ground with tears squeezing from under his eyelids.

“Go, Anne,” I said quietly.”

~The Other Boleyn Girl, Philippa Gregory, page 274

