I love the transition into fall. Rain, sun, clouds, storms, more rain, more sun…it’s perfect weather for enjoying the outdoors while you can and then going inside to read and get warm while it rains! Now that I’m staying inside to read more (although I’m stuck in the middle of several books, sorry for the lack of reviews lately!), I am starting to plan my books better. When I’m busy and traveling a lot, I choose easy-to-read books that I know I’ll enjoy; when I’m spending more time inside reading I pick books that expand beyond my addiction to fantasy books. In fact, I’m not reading a single fantasy or fiction book right now! Does your reading change with the seasons like mine does, with light books for summer and heavy books for winter? Or do you read anything at any time, as long as you enjoy it? Share your thoughts on seasonal reading and a teaser from your current book in the comments!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“His surgeon, Thomas Vicary, temporarily cured it [sore on Henry VII’s leg], but it would later recur.  There is a persistent but erroneous belief that Henry suffered from syphilis, a disease thought to have been introduced into Europe around 1493 from the newly discovered Americas; that his so-called ulcer was its primary sore, which would have healed spontaneously; and that his feverish headaches were symptomatic of the disease’s progress; if this had been the case, the headaches would have appeared at a later stage, not at the same time as the primary sore.”

~Henry VIII: The King and His Court, Alison Weir, page 278

