Over the last few weeks I’ve been looking at my book collection, wondering if I should sell/donate some of them. I have piles and piles of new books to read and nowhere to put them! At the beginning of the summer I donated most of the children’s and young adult books I have outgrown, but there are still so many more. In an effort to get organized (and to figure out which books I love the most), I created this list of my favorite books and authors; this list only includes a series if I have finished all the books and consists mainly of books I own or borrowed recently. Where possible, I have provided the link to my review of the book or author.

Please create your own list in the comments–I enjoy hearing about the books other people love! And feel free to suggest books I have forgotten or ignored, as this list is in no way finalized.

Fantasy

Favorite Books: The Symphony of Ages series, by Elizabeth Haydon; The Sharing Knife series, by Lois McMaster Bujold, the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling; The Lord of The Rings series, by J. R. R. Tolkien; The Dark Tower series, by Stephen King

Favorite Authors: Brandon Sanderson, George R. R. Martin, Tamora Pierce, Anne Rice

Science Fiction

Favorite Books: Dune, by Frank Herbert

Science Fiction/Fantasy

Favorite Authors: Orson Scott Card

Classic Literature

Favorite Books: Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Brontë; Lolita, by Vladmire Nabokov; The Oresteian Trilogy, by Aeschylus; Beowulf (the Seamus Heaney translation); To Kill A Mocking Bird, by Harper Lee; An American Tragedy, by Theodore Dreiser; The Inferno, by Dante Alighieri (John Ciardi translation)

Favorite Authors: Upton Sinclair, Louisa May Alcott, Jane Austen, Alexandre Dumas,

Literature/Fiction

Favorite Books: The Chosen, by Chaim Potok; The Prince of Tides, by Pat Conroy; The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, by Haruki Murakami; the Night Watch series by Sergei Lukyanenko

Favorite Authors: Margaret Atwood, James Patterson, Richard Bach, Lori Wick, Ann Patchett

Cooking and Food

Favorite Books: Julie & Julia, by Julie Powell; My Life in France, by Julia Child

Historical Fiction

Favorite Books: The Other Boleyn Girl, by Philippa Gregory

Favorite Authors: Ann Rinaldi

Music

Favorite Books:  Let Furry Have The Hour, by Antonino D’Ambrosio; The History of Jazz, by Ted Gioia

Sociology

Favorite Books: Odd Girl Out: The Hidden Culture of Aggression in Girls, by Rachel Simmons; Anti-Semite and Jew, by Jean-Paul Sartre; Subculture: The Meaning of Style, by Dick Bebdige

Distopia

Favorite Books: 1984, by George Orwell; Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

