This blog has come to have many meanings for me: it represents a new community I’ve joined, a creative outlet, and a space to learn. But I’m not enjoying that my lack of finishing a book for several weeks has started to make me feel guilty! Reading is supposed to be relaxing–a way to escape to another world for a short time. But sometimes, I like to push my normal reading boundaries and pick something educational. Normally, being stuck in the middle of four books at once wouldn’t bother me, but now I feel a little rude for not posting anything interesting recently! So to cheer myself up, I started the fantasy book I’ve been looking forward to for a while now: my signed copy of The Way of Kings from the Sanderson book signing earlier this month.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!) *I cheated this week and used three sentences, because they were just that good*
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“When one killed with a Blade, there was no blood. That seemed like a sign. The Shardblade was just a tool; it could not be blamed for the murders.”

~The Way of Kings: Book One of The Stormlight Archive, Brandon Sanderson, page 28

