Sometimes when I’m not feeling motivated to read, I create mini-challenges for myself. Can I finish this book in a day? In a week? Can I read this series in a month? Small things, but feeling like I will accomplish something (even if it is just a lot of late nights spent reading!) helps get my butt back in gear when I would rather do anything but sit still. Not that I suddenly stopped loving to read, I just need to move around a lot or I get bored and I discovered a long time ago that reading while walking was a bad idea. So I’ve created another challenge for myself: To read Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time epic fantasy series in one year. You can track my progress through the Wheel of Time Reading Challenge page. Do you set deadlines, make goals, or create challenges to get yourself motivated? Share your ideas and tips in the comments below, along with what you’re reading this week!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

” ‘The sparks are trying to fill the shadow, and the shadow is trying to swallow the sparks.’ She shrugged. ‘You are all tied together in something dangerous, but I can’t make any more of it.’ “

~The Eye of the World: The Wheel of Time #01, Robert Jordan, page 215

