What happens in real life has always influenced the way my interest in books develop. In middle school I loved books with strong female characters because I was looking for role models; the boy loves fantasy books, so I’ve read more of them in the last three years than I probably had since I started reading. Now that so many of my friends are getting married and starting families I’m finding myself drawn to books that revolve around the dynamics of marriage, even if the characters are fictional. Do you read books that mirror your real life, or do you use books to escape from it? Or do you only read one genre no matter what? Share your thoughts, and what you are reading this week, in the comments below!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Well, if I’d learned anything in the anthropology department, it was that you couldn’t let the people who make decisions walk all over you. You had to put yourself in their league if you wanted them to believe you really belonged there.”

~Picture Perfect, Jodi Picoult, page 130

