At what point does a good story outweigh less than perfect writing? This week I’m reading Shadow’s Edge by Brent Weeks, and as much as I want to like the book I keep being distracted by sentence structure that just seems…off. Last month I read The Way of Shadows, the first book in this Night Angel Trilogy. It was good, but far from great; enjoyable, but could have been better. After being promised that the books only get better from there, I gave Weeks another shot. As you can see in this week’s teaser, interesting as the story may be, the writing still isn’t fully developed. I’m going to soldier on and finish it, but grudgingly.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

” ‘What I do know is what you’ve told me about what killing has done to your soul. No matter what good it seems to do for the world, it destroys you.’ “

~Shadow’s Edge, Brent Weeks, page 22

