I’m cheating this week (shh, don’t tell Miz B!), because I’m still reading the same three books. I am trying very hard to finish the second Wheel of Time book, but I get interrupted reading at night so it’s hard to focus, and I’ve currently got two different lunchtime books at work. Despite my ginormous TBR pile, I have been dying to reread Lolita lately. I read it for my lit class freshman year and still fondly remember that teacher (I also wrote my very first college paper for that class, on which I received my very first college A). Maybe I just miss being a student, but I keep picking up this book. I may not actually be reading Lolita, but I wish I could.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Around Christmas she caught a bad chill and was examined by a friend of Miss Lester, a Dr. Ilse Tristramson (hi, Ilse, you were a dear, uninquisitive soul, and you touched my dove very gently). She diagnosed bronchitis, patted Lo on the back (all its bloom erect because of the fever) and put her to bed for a week or longer.”

~Lolita, Vladmir Nabokov, page 198

