I’m a bit late to the Game of Thrones thing as I don’t have HBO at my house, but I finally borrowed someone’s HBO On Demand this weekend to watch the first two episodes. And I loved it!

The HBO mini-series Game of Thrones is based on the first book in George RR Martin’s fantasy series A Song of Fire and Ice. There are four books in the series, and after only a two episodes HBO has agreed to a second season to cover the second book. Which is great and all, but honestly I would rather have a completed series than a cool show!

I read the books over two years ago when I was still in school, so I can’t tell you how closely the show has followed the book so far because I don’t perfectly remember them. But I think all the casting is spot-on, the costumes and scenery are beautiful, and the dire wolf puppies are adorable. Many of the negative reviews I’ve read online take great issue with the numerous sex scenes and not-at-all-subtle political themes, but anyone who has read the books knows that HBO did not add that stuff. Because of the previously mentioned lack of HBO I have not watched many of their shows, but so far I’m extremely impressed with their work.

So for those of you who have watched the show, what do you think? Does it accurately portray the books? Do you prefer the books or the show? Do you like the cast as much as I do? Please, share your thoughts in the comments!

