The other weekend, I had a chance to see the musical Wicked: The Untold Story of the Witches of OZ in Eugene with a friend. Wicked has been on my “must see” list for a few years now, and I’d actually missed seeing it three times because of scheduling issues–it was in Boston and I was home, or it was in Portland and I was in Boston.

Wicked is a musical based on the book by Gregory Maguire. It tells the story of Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West, and how she came to be so wicked (hint–it wasn’t her fault). I first read L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of OZ series in grade school, and enjoyed it much more than the Wizard of OZ movie. I read Wicked in the summer between high school and college, and while Maguire’s writing style was a struggle for me to get into, I love the idea of the story. So when I heard it was also a musical, I knew I would see the show someday.

Wicked the musical takes all the best parts of the book and puts it to great music (confession: I listened to the soundtrack every day for a week or two leading up to the show, and still listen to daily more than a week later). The costumes, lights, and music were amazing–I was completely enthralled the entire show. All the actors were spot-on, and my favorite song (No Good Deed) was beautifully done. For anyone who read the book and liked the story itself better than the writing, I would highly recommend seeing the musical.

Has anyone else seen the show, either on Broadway or on tour? I loved it, but would also love to hear your opinions. Did you think it followed the book well? Would you see it again, or recommend it to others? Do you like seeing books turned into shows? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

