Way back on March 1st I mentioned I was baking four dozen cupcakes, using recipes from a cute little cupcake book. The baby shower was fun, and the cupcakes got great reviews. I’m now using the same book for a birthday party for a girl at work, so I thought I would give my favorite cupcake cookbook, Cupcakes! by Elinor Klivans, a formal review.

4 1/2 out of 5 bookmarks

I was given this adorable book as a Christmas present, and surprisingly out of my dozens of cookbooks it filled an unknown-to-me hole in my collection. There were baking cookbooks, general cookbooks that included desserts, and several brand-specific chocolate cookbooks, but not a single cupcake book! Not that I was exactly lacking for cupcake recipes (my “cupcakes and cakes” bookmark folder has over 100 recipes), but I always prefer a recipe in a book to one I find online. Does anyone else still use and love cookbooks, even with e-books and food blogs?

I’ve made three recipes from this book: Easy-Mix Yellow Cupcakes, Chocolate Sour Cream Cupcakes, and Cream Cheese Frosting. They have all turned out great (the chocolate ones fell the first time, but the second time I mixed them longer and the batter behaved better), and I’m using the Easy-Mix Yellow Cupcakes for an end-of-a-long-week birthday party at work.

The book also has many interesting recipes I can’t wait to try, each a variation on the simple recipes introduced at the beginning of the book. Some of my favorites include Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting, Peanut Butter Cupcakes with Milk Chocolate Glaze, Banana Butterscotch Cupcakes, and Cinnamon Sugar Puff Cupcakes.

My only real problem with this cookbook is the small number of pictures. I prefer to have a picture for each recipe, and while I understand that the same frosting/glaze is used in several recipes, a photo would still be nice. But there are great tips and general cupcake advice in the first few pages, which almost makes up for the lack of cute cupcake photos. So if you’re looking for a fun little cupcake cookbook, I recommend Cupcakes! Now excuse me, I’ve got to go make some frosting.

