Fun and comfortable t-shirts are my favorite article of clothing so I was excited to learn about Out Of Print Clothing, a company that designs shirts with vintage book covers. The company motto is “Books on shirts. Shirts on a mission,” with the aim of celebrating great books. Their shirts (which come in men’s, women’s, and children’s sizes) are wonderfully colorful and soft–what more could you ask for in a t-shirt? As stated on their website, “How we read is changing as we move further into the digital age. It’s unclear what the role of the book cover will be in this new era, but we feel it’s more important than ever to reflect our own individual experiences with great literary art before it’s forever changed.”

Along with designing great shirts, they are also actively involved in giving back to the community. For every shirt sold, Out Of Print Clothing donates a book to their partner charity Books For Africa to help communities in need. Doing good for my fellow readers just by buying a book? I was sold!

My new favorite shirt

As a very belated Christmas present, my brother bought me the To Kill A Mockingbird shirt. I first read To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee in 7th grade, and fell completely in love with Scout. I’ve read the book several times since I was 14, and every time I read the courtroom speeches scenes I get chills. While there are several other Out Of Print shirts I want, I knew the To Kill A Mockingbird one would be my first purchase. I’ve only had the shirt for a week and I’ve worn in twice, I love it so much!

Adult size t-shirts are $28, and kid’s shirts are $22. While I normally wouldn’t pay (or ask my brother to pay) $28 for a t-shirt, the fact that the cost of the shirt also pays for a donation to Books For Africa, so For $28 I got a shirt and a book, which I thought was a good deal. The shirts are super soft, and thin enough to be comfortable in summer and easily layered in winter. The description on the To Kill A Mockingbird shirt said it ran small, so I sized up to a medium to be safe–I probably could have worn a small, but it was easier to shrink the shirt in the dryer to make it just an inch or two shorter. The shipping was fast, as my shirt arrived less than a week after my brother ordered it. The shirt is 100% cotton, and can be washed in cold water and tumble dried on low, so it’s easy to care for. They also offer iPhone cases and eReader jackets, along with gift cards.

I love sharing my passion for reading with people, so Out Of Print Clothing is my ideal store. For anyone who loves fun t-shirts and reading, I would highly recommend Out Of Print Clothing.

The opinions expressed in this post are entirely my own. I was not contacted by Out Of Print Clothing or solicited in any way. This post was written because I had a good experience with a company, and I wanted to share it with my readers.
