Despite being on a self-imposed book buying ban, I never specifically told my family not to buy me books…so on Saturday my father came home from a garage sale with a new Ann Rice novel. It may be a little worn (water damage from sitting in a box in a garage), but at $.10 I can’t really fault my dad for bringing it home.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Brilliant to hid the elixir in a wilderness of poisons. What safer place for a potion that confers immortality than among potions that bring death. And to think they were her poisons–those which Cleopatra tested before deciding to use the venom of the asp to take her life.”

~The Mummy: Or, Ramses the Damned, Ann Rice, page 21

