Back in August, an article was published about the “10 books you really should have read in high school.” Jennifer Worick, the author, starts by realizing not many teenagers would have actually appreciated these books at the time but they should still read them. And if you’re an adult who hasn’t read them, what are you waiting for?! While some readers point out a few other classics she left off the list in the comments (10 does seem like a small number when you’re listing “great classics” all people should read), her list is close to what I actually did read in school.

First up, on Worick’s list: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorn, The Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger, The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Siddhartha by Herman Hesse, Lord of the Flies by William Golding, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain, To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee, and The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand.

And the ones I read in high school as required reading: The Scarlet Letter (junior year), The Great Gatsby (junior year), Pride and Prejudice (sophomore year), Lord of the Flies (sophomore year), The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (junior year) and To Kill A Mockingbird (freshman year). Either my small-town high school is more on top of their required reading list than I thought, or advanced English classes read more of the classics. I also read Frankenstein and Siddhartha while I was in high school, but those were for fun.

Did you read any of the books Worick claims are being ignored nowadays? Or are you like me, and actually read most of them in high school? And did you actually enjoy the books when you read them as a teen–I know I did!

