Last Friday I finally got a new library card–it only took me living in my new city for three months to walk the 20 minutes to get one. A few cool things I noticed about my new library: self checkout, passes for local museums/cultural stuff, and a HUGE personal finance section. Admittedly my hometown library is tiny (I featured photos of it in this post about the importance of public libraries and reading), but having a dedicated “Personal Finance” section, as differentiated from investing or retirement saving, was a great surprise on a lazy birthday afternoon. My career is starting to turn profitable (or at least I don’t spend more than I make every month, even with paying extra on student loans), and I’m trying to get ahead of the game by studying what to do with money now, before I really have much.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Finally, once you’ve gotten all your expenses filled in, add 15 percent for expenditures you haven’t counted yet. Yes, really.”

~I Will Teach You To Be Rich: No guilt. No excuses. No B.S. Just a 6-week program that works by Ramit Sethi, page 105

