My history with science fiction is complicated–I was obsessed in middle school, but stopped reading it completely after 8th grade. I wanted to do many things growing up, including science-ey things (study volcanoes, marine biology, weather, space, ect), but when I started struggling in my math classes teachers began telling me that it was ok to not be good at something–and besides, I was good at reading and writing, so I didn’t really need to do math anyway. And I wasn’t even that bad at math, I was just getting B’s instead of my normal A’s!  I don’t regret changing to marketing instead of science, but I do regret all the years I spent avoiding any science fiction book because I believed I was too stupid to understand.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Gaal found a man waiting for him in his room. For a moment, he was too startled to put into words the inevitable ‘What are you doing here?’ that came to his lips.”
~Foundation, Isaac Asimov, page 15
