I read the first two books in Brent Weeks’ Night Angel Trilogy what feels like ages ago–way before my year of Wheel of Time. Although they aren’t the best books I’ve ever read, I finally decided to finish this series because I was looking for something amusing and easy to read on my lunch break. While I know my teaser today is more than two lines, I just had to share the part that made me snort today at lunch–my coworkers learned to ignore me long ago.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“You know I’ve always loved words. I’m going to write a book of words.”

“I was under the impression that that’s what most books are.”

“Not composed of words. I’m going to write a book defining all the words in our language. I’m calling it a dictionary.”

“You’re writing in Jaeran?”

“Yes.”

“Defining Jaeran words?”

“Right.”

“So you’ll have to already know Jaeran to read it?”

“You make it sound stupid,” Logan said, scowling.

~Beyond The Shadows: The Night Angel Trilogy #3 by Brent Weeks, page 83

