Ever since I was a child, I’ve loved National Geographic magazine. At the library there was a magazine rack when you could trade used magazines, and I would trade my Highlights and American Girl magazines for an issue of National Geographic I hadn’t read yet. So in January, after reviewing my budget from last year and realizing there would be a bit extra this year, I bought a subscription to the magazine.

The National Geographic Society, which has been around since 1888, is a non-profit dedicated to science and education. Their interests, as listed on the website, include geography, archaeology, natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation. The National Geographic Society encompass all things I loved as a kid (my favorite issue from childhood focused on an archaeological dig in the city of Pompeii), and hope to renew my interest in as an adult.

The four magazines I’ve received this year have been just as interesting as I remember. April’s cover story is the Titanic, so I can’t wait to read it once I finish March’s issue. All my magazines have arrived on time and I have to pace myself of I’ll sit down and read the whole thing in one go–which is fine, unless I’ve got other things to do like eating dinner. The $15 I spent on a year subscription (that deal is still going on, by the way!) has been completely worth it so far, and pending major financial disasters, I’ll renew again next year.

I’m curious, do you subscribe to any magazines? This is my only one, and I don’t see that changing any time soon.

