Following my own advice about what to do when you’re struggling with a book, I’ve started a book about French history. While I don’t plan on finishing the book (only three chapters cover the time period I need to understand for Les Mis), I still wanted to share it today!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“Boundless in his own ambition, Napoleon derided it in others, remarking cynically of the Légion: “it is by such baubles that one leads men by the nose!” Yet under the Empire no fewer than 48,000 rubans rouges were distributed, denoting the Légion.”

~La Belle France: A Short History, by Alistair Horne, page 211

