I just need one good afternoon of reading to finish Les Mis, but since I’m so close the reading gods are conspiring against me and I’m busy from now until forever (aka September). And since I’m frustrated with my book, I’m breaking the rules today to share an entire paragraph instead of the normal two sentences because it makes me happy–for a book that was written in 1862, it sure has some accurate things to say on today’s political climate!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This week’s teaser:

“But let those who desire not the future, think of it. In saying no to progress, it is not the future which they condemn, but themselves. They give themselves a melancholy disease; they inoculate themselves with the past. There is but one way of refusing tomorrow, that is to die.”

~Les Misérables, by Victor Hugo, page 866

