Last Saturday I went to Powell’s with every intention of only buying one book–a cheap cookbook. I came home with seven books: two cookbooks (one vegetarian, one vegan, although I am neither vegetarian nor vegan), three science fiction books from my NPR list, and two Theodore Dreiser books. What can I say, book stores have a magical pull on my wallet!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This weeks teaser:

“When Caroline Meeber boarded the afternoon train for Chicago, her total outfit consisted of a small trunk, a cheap imitation alligator-skin satchel, a small lurch in a paper box, and a yellow leather snap purse, containing her ticket, a scrap of paper with her sister’s address in Van Buren Street, and four dollars in money. It was in August, 1889.”

~Sister Carrie, by Theodore Dreiser, page 1

