While I still haven’t finished several series from the NPR list that I was reading prior to the challenge, I have started a new series. I’m now part-way through the second book (of six) and at the rate these books are going, I’ll have this series finished before I finish anything else on that list!

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This weeks teaser:

“The water in the bowl stirred almost immediately, rippling, and a long blog of liquid extruded from the surface of the contents in the bowl, wavering slowly into the miniature form of a women in evening robes, striking rather than beautiful, apparently in her late twenties. ‘Fidealis,’ the woman’s form said. He voice sounded faint, soft, very far away. ‘You’re late.’ “

~Academ’s Fury: Book Two of the Codex Alera, by Jim Butcher, page 64

