If you looked at my Google Reader on any given day, I seem like kind of a spaz. It’s filled with feminist blogs, cooking blogs, fashion blogs, literary blogs, gaming blogs, animal blogs, and marketing blogs. Among other things! And the books I read are similarly random. But I’ll admit, I don’t always finish what I start–just see my “books I started but never finished” list on the Currently Reading page! So when I saw this article on The New Yorker about promiscuous reading, I knew it was something I could relate to!

“The reason I don’t finish books is not that I don’t like reading enough; it’s that I like reading too much,” academic and book critic Mark O’Connell admits. “I can’t say no.” He suggests two main reasons he can’t stick with most books through the end–there are just too many good books waiting to be read, and the internet. A theory my random Google Reader seems to support–tons of different topics and I still can’t focus on just one article.

In response to O’Connell’s post, The Atlantic Wire wrote two articles that are a book lover’s personality test. While none of the reading types in this first article perfectly fit me, I loved seeing what aspects of myself were reflected in each one: The Hate Reader, The Chronological Reader, The Book-Buster, Delayed Onset Reader #1, Delayed Onset Reader #2, The Bookophile, The Anti-Reader, The Cross Under, The Multi-Tasker (based on Mark O’Connell), and The Sleepy Bedtime Reader. One of the best parts of the article are the suggested reads for each type.

The second Atlantic Wire article, A Diagnostics Addendum, adds twelve new reading personality types: The Book Snob, The Hopelessly Devoted, The Audiobook Listened, The Conscientious Reader, The Critic, The Book Swagger, The Easily Influenced Reader, The All-the Timer/Compulsive/Voracious/Anything Goes Reader, The Sharer, The Re-Reader, the It’s Complicated Reader, and The Cat (gotta love those cats!)

Admittedly, the All-the-Timer/Compulsive/Voracious/Anything Goes Reader is probably the most accurate! The description reads: “Wherever you go, whatever you do, there’s a book with you. It doesn’t matter what it is, really, so long as there are pages with words on them, or an e-reader with words on it. We can’t really suggested anything here because you took it with you to the grocery store or subway or library or laundromat or coffee shop, and you’re standing in line or sitting down and reading it right now.” Just ignore the two books at work, the book in my purse, the book in my work bag, the book on my bedside table, the book on my computer desk, and the book on the living room table…

So what’s your reading personality type? Share in the comments!

