As it gets closer to the holidays I’m finding myself reading more cookbooks. I’m currently looking for a fool-proof pie crust recipe, because my fiance’s favorite part of Thanksgiving dinner is the homemade pumpkin and chocolate pies…and my family always does store-bought pie. If I wasn’t in the market for a traditional recipe, however, I would jump on the Marbled Pumpkin Gingersnap Tart from the new Smitten Kitchen Cookbook (last year I made a pumpkin caramel cheesecake–I clearly work hard to avoid anything with a real crust).

Of course, pumpkin pie has nothing to do with my teaser this week. I just want to get everyone obsessed with Smitten’s cookbook! My teaser this week is actually from a book I picked up on vacation in Seattle a few weeks ago, and hopefully I’ll have my review of the store ready to go soon because that bookstore (and the Experience Music Project) may have been my favorite part of the trip.

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This weeks teaser:

“Fromm found this astonishing–that someone could be so ignorant of the new realities of Germany as to think that a mere baptism could restore one’s status as an Aryan.

‘Poor old fool!’ Fromm wrote in her diary.”

~In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler’s Berlin, by Eric Larson, page 193

