After an unintentional (but much needed break-since the last time I posed I got married!), I’m back with a still larger pile of books to be reviewed. I’m also leaving on a trip soon, so I’m building a collection of new books on my Kindle to go with the two new hardback books I’ll be packing in my suitcase. I find it incredibly hard to commit to a single book or two when I’m traveling, so right now I’m theoretically taking 9 new books on a trip that’s not even two weeks long. And there is always the chance I’ll buy more books while out of town if I find a good bookstore. Makes total sense, right…?

The rules for Teaser Tuesday, hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading, are simple:

  1. Grab your current read
  2. Open to a random page
  3. Share two “teaser” sentences from that page (without spoiling the book!)
  4. Include the title and author so others can find the book if they enjoyed your teaser

This weeks teaser:

“This was a eureka moment: I realized that the tasks we had chosen for study were exceptionally effortful. An image came to mind: mental life–today I would speak of the life of System 2–is normally conducted at the pace of a comfortable walk, sometimes interrupted by episodes of jogging and on rare occcasions by a frantic sprint.”

~Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman, page 34

