With how backed up my posting became during the holiday season, I figure it only makes sense to review a bookstore from my last vacation while I’m currently on a different vacation! So I might be writing this from a lounge chair in Maui (still cannot believe I’m actually on vacation in Hawaii–best present ever!), we can all pretend we’re in rainy Seattle in October right?

When we told people that we were planning a long weekend trip to Seattle (a pretty quick train ride from Portland), there were several places that were highly recommended–food, sights, ect. But this bookstore was the one I was most excited about, since the fiance’s aunt had lived in Seattle for a while in the 80s and still raves about Left Bank Books. And after forgetting to look up directions, we’re pretty lucky we managed to run into it while getting lost in Seattle.

Left Bank Books in Seattle, WA

Left Bank Books in Seattle, WA

Left Bank Books is a tiny store, three stories stuffed with over 10,000 books. According to their website they specialize in “anti-authoritarian, anarchist, independent, radical and small-press titles.” The store is divided into many (tiny) sections, and I could have spent hours looking at everything (as it was, I never even made it upstairs since the store was busy and I’d already found two books). Their food section was especially interesting, since I’m starting to research a more natural/whole/healthy way to eat (we love sourdough bread a little too much…). They also had a section for local authors, which was where I picked up my first book: In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson, a great look at Nazi Germany and how so many people could delude themselves into ignoring the atrocities of Nazi control (review pending).

The second book I picked up, from their feminist section, was Cunt: A Declaration of Independence by Inga Muscio and Betty Dodson. I had actually been looking for this book in Portland for several months, but no one seemed to have it in stock. While I didn’t plan on buying anything at Left Bank Books (this trip was my first time traveling with the Kindle), when I saw they had a copy I just couldn’t pass it up!

Has anyone else been to Left Bank Books? I found the staff to be extremely friendly, the store was small but well organized, and I’m planning on stopping by every time I’m in Seattle now. I’d love to hear about other people’s experiences though, so share your thoughts in the comments!

 

 

